feature photo

Research

 

The vision for Research in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine is:

To inform and transform healthcare for individuals and populations.

To achieve this vision, departmental faculty are involved in an array of clinical and population based research on a range of topics including rural health, health disparities, disability and health, healthy lifestyles, tobacco cessation, and health care quality.

Our Research Team members are:

Kevin Bennett, PhD (Director of Research)
Associate Professor of Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Rural Health, Health Disparities, Health Policy
PubMed
Google Scholar 
Kevin.bennett@uscmed.sc.edu

Suzanne M. Bertollo, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Preventive Medicine, Integrative Medicine, Health Promotion
Suzanne.bertollo@uscmed.sc.edu

E.J. Mayeaux, Jr., M.D., DABFP, FAAFP
Professor and Chairman, Department of Family and Preventive Medicine
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of South Carolina School of Medicine
Interests: Primary care, women's health, colposcopy, outpatient procedural medicine
PubMed
EJ.Mayeaux@uscmed.sc.edu

Michele Stanek, MHS
Research Assistant Professor of Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Health Care Quality Improvement
PubMed
Michele.stanek@uscmed.sc.edu

Scott M. Strayer, MD, MPH
Professor of Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Tobacco Cessation, Cancer prevention, Motivational Interviewing and Practice-based research
PubMed
Google Scholar
Scott.strayer@uscmed.sc.edu

Sandy Kammermann, MS, EdS
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Patient Education, Healthy Lifestyles, Rural Health, Interdisciplinary Training
Sandy.kammermann@uscmed.sc.edu

Meshia Waleh, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family & Preventive Medicine
Interests: Health Promotion, International Health
Meshia.waleh@uscmed.sc.edu

Jeffrey W. Hall, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Family and Preventive Medicine
Interests: International health, maternal & child health
Jeff.hall@uscmed.sc.edu